Home > Partners > Alumni > History


The idea of an alumni association was first seeded in 2003 by then-Principal Mdm Moliah Binte Hashim, and the Northland Primary Alumni started informally during the school's 15th anniversary celebrations on 11 April 2003. The first recruitment drive for alumni members was kicked-started through a simple barbecue organised by the interim alumni committee.

Mr Tan Lit Kah led the interim committee till 2005, when Mr Mohd Faizul Salamon became the first alumni President. Together with a team of alumni members, they laid the foundations of the alumni group with the school and held monthly meetings. After serving for four years, leadership of the alumni was passed to Ms Juliana Ong in 2009.

Mr Marcus Ng assumed presidency in January 2011, opening a new chapter for the alumni. Leading a new committee, Marcus introduced structural reforms to improve communications between the school, alumni committee, and alumni members. Opportunities were created for alumni members to volunteer at school events, and to also take charge of activity planning. This was part of its nascent leadership training and development programme, centering on developing the potential of its youth alumni members.

In 2016, the Northland Primary Alumni Association officially registered itself with the Registry of Societies. With this, the alumni association was split into the Main Wing, and the Youth Alumni Wing.


2011 - present       Mr Ng Aik Wei Marcus
2009 - 2010            Ms Juliana Ong
2005 - 2008            Mr Mohd Faizul Salamon
2003 - 2004            Mr Tan Lit Kah (interim)