subbanner
Home > Programmes > Departments > English

English

AIMS


VISION
Confident and Competent Communicators

MISSION
To build a firm foundation in the acquisition of literacy skills.

APPROACH
The English Department aims to provide students with a firm foundation in the acquisition of literacy skills through a rigorous classroom curriculum, based on the STELLAR approach, which is enhanced with the following programmes:

  1. A Story is a Doorway (Extensive Reading Programme) 
  2. Whole-school Approach to Oracy 
  3. Focused Intervention Programme (FIP) 

Overview.png

For more information on STELLAR, please visit http://www.stellarliteracy.sg

DEPARTMENT MEMBERS

HOD English Language

Mrs Tham Wan Churn

teo_wan_churn@moe.edu.sg

LH English Language

Ms Munirah Bte Mohd Sani

munirah_mohamed_sani@moe.edu.sg

Teaching & Learning

Mrs Cha Sau Mei

chan_sau_mei@moe.edu.sg

Learning Support
(P1 & P2)

Mrs Tan Lee Joon

lim_lee_joon@moe.edu.sg

 

Members

Mrs Chitra Thirumaran

chitra_devi_v_ramalingam@moe.edu.sg

Ms Dhurga Devi d/o Ramasamy

dhurga_devi_ramasamy@moe.edu.sg

Mrs See-Foo Hui Shan

foo_hui_shan@moe.edu.sg

Miss Farah Hasinah

farah_hasinah_abdul_wahab@moe.edu.sg  

Mrs Nurelyani Akel

nurelyani_mustaffa@moe.edu.sg

Mrs Lee-Goy Hoon Meng

lee-goy_hoon_meng@moe.edu.sg

Mrs Katherine Chong Wenxin

tan_wenxin@moe.edu.sg

Miss Lee Yu Jin Diane

lee_yu_jin_diane@moe.edu.sg

Mrs Shiamala d/o Krishna Kumar

shiamala_krishna_kumar@moe.edu.sg

Miss Tan Kheng Imm

tan_kheng_imm@moe.edu.sg  

Mdm A P Priya Lathaa

a_p_priya_lathaa@moe.edu.sg   

Mr Rajiv Jude

rajiv_jude_illesinghe@moe.edu.sg

 


PROGRAMMES


1.A Story is a Doorway (Extensive Reading Programme)


Our school has adopted the tagline ‘A Story is a Doorway’, from the poem ‘A Story is a Doorway, by Richard Peck, for our Extensive Reading Programme. This is because reading opens the door to the world of knowledge, imagination and excitement.

This programme aims to instil in students a lifelong passion for reading and develop appreciation for good literature.

Speaking.png

2. Whole-School Approach to Oracy


With the goal of developing confident speakers in mind, the school seeks not only to equip students with essential speaking skills, but also to provide them with plentiful of opportunities for public speaking.

Speaking.png

3. Focused Intervention Programme


Focused Intervention.png